Sink or Swim

When I heard my class was going to be watching the movie Sink or Swim I was kind of excited to see what it was all about but after I started watching it I got disappointed because the movie made no sense to me. I didn’t understand how everything came together to make this type of movie. Sink or Swim was in black and white and had a little girl as the narrator. I couldn’t tell if the narrator was talking about herself when she described a young girl in the movie or if it was just a random story. I felt as though the movie had no plot, no peak and it didn’t really have a conclusion either. All of the random pictures of naked women and other abstract clips really served as a disadvantage to help me pay attention.  Maybe if I knew what the director was trying to tell me in this movie then I really could’ve gotten something out of it. Sadly I didn’t understand any of it. I’m still trying to figure out how this movie has anything to do with what we’re learning in class right now. Maybe the director had some hidden issues in their past just like in the book Fun Home: A family Tragicomic, perhaps she was gay and didn’t realize it until she got older. I don’t really know.

Leave a Reply

